Monroe County Law Day Celebration

Stroudsburg Herald
Photo By Anna Loncki

By Maria Montecristo

Celebrated in the United States on May 1 and throughout May, Law Day has become an integral part of the legal culture. President Dwight Eisenhower proclaimed Law Day on May 1, 1958, to honor the role of law in the creation of the United States of America. Congress later passed a joint resolution establishing May 1 as Law Day.

The Monroe County Bar Association celebrated Law Day today with a luncheon followed by a ceremony in Historic Courtroom One. The Monroe County Joint Veterans Honor Guard Presented Colors and led the Pledge of Allegiance. Deborah Huffman, Esquire, President, Monroe County Bar Association, welcomed those in attendance, and Judge Arthur Zulick of the Court of Common Pleas offered remarks. He was joined on the bench by the Honorable Jon Marks and the Honorable Steve Higgins. The program continued with award presentations beginning with Creativity Contest Winners; the theme this year was "Toward a More Perfect Union: The Constitution in Times of Change"; First place winner was Willow Dziura of Stroudsburg High School, who entered a video based on the Gideon V. Wainright, Second Place, for his Digitally Manipulated Painting, "Gender Identity," went to Kaiden Keys of Pocono Mountain West High School, and Jack Francis of Stroudsburg High School was the third place winner for his Essay, The 17th Amendment: A 1900s Revival of American Ideas. The Creativity Contest Awards were presented by Hillary Madden, Esquire, Law Day Committee Chair.

William Reaser, Esquire, awarded The Judge Ronald E. Vican Memorial Scholarship of $1000 each to Jessica Sehn of Pocono Mountain West High School and Nicholas Taborelli of Pocono Mountain East High School. Maria Bernardo East Stroudsburg High School North, Kaitlyn Booth of East Stroudsburg High School South, and Jack Francis of Stroudsburg High School received a $2000 from the Monroe County Bar Association Foundation Foundation Fund also awarded by attorney Reaser.

Liberty Bell Award 2020 was presented by Maria Candelaria, Esq., to John H. Parker, Jr. posthumously for his outstanding lifetime of service to the Monroe County and its residents. Mary Louise Parker, John's widow, accepted the award and spoke lovingly about John's humility, his tireless work in our county, and his love of his community. The 2021 award was presented by commissioner John Christy to the Director of the County Board of Elections, Sara May-Silfee, for her dedication and hard work during an election season that saw so many changes. Terri Cramer and Cathy Shoemaker were the proud recipients of the 2022 Liberty Award, presented to them by Lori Cerato, Esquire, who praised the women for their "above and beyond" service during the pandemic. Along with their ability to adapt to the changing work environment. 

Deborah Huffman, Esquire, President of the Monroe County Bar Association made the closing remarks.

To learn more about the history of Law Day go to: › annual-observances › law-day


This is original content from NewsBreak’s Creator Program. Join today to publish and share your own content.

Comments / 0

Published by

Local news, events, food, festivals, concerts, arts and community

Stroudsburg, PA

More from Stroudsburg Herald

Comments / 0