Minneapolis, MN

Walden University's Master of Science in Nursing Program receives CCNE 10-year accreditation extension

Paula Carlsen


MINNEAPOLIS, MN — Recently, the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) granted Walden University’s Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) program a ten-year accreditation extension through December 31, 2030. CCNE is an autonomous national accrediting agency that guarantees the quality and integrity of baccalaureate, graduate and residency programs in nursing.

Dr. Andrea Lindell, the RN, ANEF, vice provost and dean of Walden’s College of Nursing expressed her pride on the ten-year accreditation extension for the MSN programs. She explained how the pandemic has underscored the critical importance of the nursing profession in assuring the health and well-being of the global population.

Their high-quality online programs are addressing the nursing shortage gap, while the nursing students and graduates are affecting positive social change through tackling healthcare inequities and instituting best practices in patient care.

More nurses with advanced degrees have graduated from Walden University, making Walden the largest conferrer of MSN degrees in America based on the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) IPEDS database. Designed to help students use evidence-based practice to enhance patient care and develop leadership skills, the MSN program features nine specializations to encounter students’ unique career goals, including five nurse practitioners (NP) and four specialty practice options.

The specializations include Adult-Gerontology Acute and Primary Care NP, Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP), Pediatric NP Primary Care and Psychiatric-Mental Health NP. Meanwhile, the specialty practice options include Nursing Education, Nurse Executive, Nursing Informatics,and Public Health Nursing.

This accreditation also administers to four new specializations in the post-graduate APRN certificate program in Adult-Gerontology Acute and Primary Care, FNP and Psychiatric-Mental Health NP. The accreditation lasts ten years and it is the maximum period that CCNE grants for Walden.

In total, the Bachelor of Science in Nursing (RN-BSN), MSN, Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) and post-graduate APRN certificate program in Adult-Gerontology Acute and Primary Care NP, FNP and Psychiatric-Mental Health NP at Walden University are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education. Visit http://www.ccneaccreditation.org for more information.

As a national accrediting agency, CCNE serves the public interest by evaluating and recognizing programs that engage in effective educational practices. As a voluntary, self-regulatory process, CCNE accreditation supports and coaxes self-assessment by nursing programs and supports constant growth and improvement of collegiate professional education and nurse residency programs.

For more information on Walden University’s nursing programs, visit the website at WaldenU.edu/nursing.

This is original content from NewsBreak’s Creator Program. Join today to publish and share your own content.

Comments / 0

Published by

Minnesota native at home in the Twin Cities!

Minneapolis, MN

More from Paula Carlsen

Comments / 0