Abandoned 1884 Marine Hospital Memphis, Tennessee
Built along the Mississippi river the campus was built in 1884 to care for wounded Civil War soldiers and was also used to conduct scientific research for a yellow fever cure. At this time the Marine Hospital consisted of six buildings: the stable, the surgeons house, nurses quarters, the administrative building, and two wards. In the 1930's several other buildings were added to the property. In 1965 the hospital closed permanently, and ownership was split between a museum and the federal government until in 2004 when it was sold to a private buyer. Over the past few years the complex has been turned into luxury apartments, and is barely recognizable inside to the once abandoned and decaying structure it was before. We are Brittany and Jay and we travel full time in our RV bringing to news break the best content from around the country. From beautiful places in nature, to the top tourist locations, unique dining, and local events. Follow us here to see where we end up next.
We are Jay and Brittany, and we travel full time in our RV bringing to newsbreak the best content from around the country. Everything from beautiful places in nature, to the top tourist locations, unique dining, and just our general adventure as we travel this beautiful country we call home. One of our biggest passions is animals whether it's macro shots of bugs out in nature, wild animals, or our own pets. We travel with our two dogs, a cat, hamsters, and rats all in our large motorhome. We love to get out and explore, and to share our adventurous life here on Newsbreak.