Mother-Son Writing Duo Anne Rice's and Christopher Rice's Newest Novel Now Available

Nicholas Barron

It’s fitting that Anne Rice’s latest, and perhaps last, novel, Ramses the Damned: The Reign of Osiris, focuses on immortality.

Rice passed away in Dec., but she returns to bookshelves with her latest collaboration with her son, Christopher Rice. The Reign of Osiris is a follow-up to the duo’s 2017 novel, Ramses the Damned: The Passion of Cleopatra.

“The authors have found a winning formula that ensures more entertaining installments to come,” a Publishers Weekly review said about Anne Rice and Christopher Rice’s newest novel.

Learn more below about Ramses the Damned: The Reign of Osiris and three other new books hitting shelves this week.

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. That means I may receive a small percentage of any purchase you make after visiting one of these links at no additional cost to you. This tiny amount of money helps make stories like this one possible. I appreciate your support!
Photo by Evelyn Chong from Pexels

Ramses the Damned: The Reign of Osiris by Anne Rice and Christopher Rice

What if Pharaoh Ramses II came back to life as an immortal King of England? That’s the central question surrounding the plot of Anne Rice and Christopher Rice’s Ramses the Damned: The Reign of Osiris.

Set in 1914, with World War I looming, Ramses the Damned finds Ramses, who goes by Reginald Ramsey, and his lover, Julie Stratford, receiving a letter from Ramsey’s queen, Bektaten. Bektaten wants the couple to avoid the coming conflict by fleeing to the U.S.

Russian spies, however, who don’t realize the King of England is immortal, try to assassinate the monarch. While the spies’ attempts fail, Ramses and Julia uncover clues about the Russians' special powers that threaten their lives and the world.

From the publisher: In Ramses the Damned: The Reign of Osiris, Anne Rice, revered and beloved storyteller (“queen of gothic lit, the maestro of the monstrous and the diva of the devious” —The Philadelphia Inquirer), in collaboration with her son, acclaimed bestselling novelist Christopher Rice (“a magician; a master” –Peter Straub), bring us another thrilling, seductive tale of high adventure, romance, history, and suspense.

Get the book: Amazon | Bookshop

Don’t Cry for Me by Daniel Black

Daniel Black is back with a novel structured as a letter from a father, Jacob, to his son, Isaac.

On his deathbed, Jacob pens a letter to Isaac, his gay son with whom he hasn’t spoken in years. Jacob has much he wants to tell Isaac, from their family's tragic past to Jacob’s regrets and sorrows.

Don’t Cry for Me explores Black history, family trauma, LGBTQ+ experiences, and more.

Black’s other books include The Coming, They Tell Me of a Home, and The Sacred Place.

From the publisher: Spare as it is sweeping, poetic as it is compulsively readable, Don't Cry for Me is a monumental novel about one family grappling with love's hard edges and the unexpected places where hope and healing take flight.

Get the book: Amazon | Bookshop

Beautiful Little Fools by Jillian Cantor

Here’s a retelling of The Great Gatsby from the female characters’ perspectives.

Beautiful Little Fools begins with Jay Gatsby’s murder, then rewinds to what preceded one of American literature’s best-known killings. The novel features Daisy Buchanan, Jordan Baker, and Catherine McCoy recounting to detective Frank Charles what happened before someone killed Gatsby.

In Beautiful Little Fools, Gatsby takes a back seat while the women drive.

From the publisher: Beautiful Little Fools is a quintessential tale of money and power, marriage and friendship, love and desire, and ultimately the murder of a man tormented by the past and driven by a destructive longing that can never be fulfilled.

Get the book Amazon | Bookshop

The Books of Jacob by Olga Tokarczuk

Nobel Price-winner Olga Tokarczuk’s, The Books of Jacob is now available in English.

First published in Tokarczuk’s native Poland in 2014 as Ksiegi Jakubowe, which the Nobel Prize academy called her “magnum opus,” The Books of Jacob takes place in mid-18th century eastern Europe. A young Jew named Jacob Frank claims to be the Messiah while traveling from town to town.

Frank draws crowds wherever he goes. Some worship him, others denounce him, as they did the real Jacob Frank, on whom Tokarczuk bases her story.

From the publisher: The Nobel Prize–winner’s richest, most sweeping and ambitious novel yet follows the comet-like rise and fall of a mysterious, messianic religious leader as he blazes his way across eighteenth-century Europe.

Get the book Amazon | Bookshop

Four new novels available on Feb. 1, 2022

This week, Anne Rice and Christopher Rice release their latest and perhaps final collaboration. And an acclaimed novel by Nobel Prize-winner Olga Tokarczuk is now available in English.

These are part of four notable novels hitting bookshelves on Feb. 1, 2022:

If you enjoyed this article, please share it with others. And follow me on NewsBreak for weekly articles about new books.

Comments / 4

Published by

Books reporter for NewsBreak. Follow for updates on new books, publishing news, and more.

Washington, DC

More from Nicholas Barron

Comments / 0