Van Hoang's Latest and Three More New Children's Books Making Headlines This Week

Nicholas Barron

Van Hoang is out with a new book, headlining a slew of children’s books hitting shelves this holiday shopping season.

Van Hoang’s the author of Girl Giant and the Monkey King, which came out last year. And now, she’s releasing a follow-up, Girl Giant and the Jade War.

You’ll find that book and three more new children's and young adult books below.

https://img.particlenews.com/image.php?url=0n6c9z_0dHIf7FW00
Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

New children’s books releasing on Dec. 7, 2021

Girl Giant and the Jade War by Van Hoang

This book is a sequel to Hoang’s first published book, last year’s Girl Giant and the Monkey King. In that book, 11-year-old Thom Ngho tries to make a deal with a trickster deity, the Monkey King, to get rid of her supernatural strength.

Now, the Monkey King is waging war against the Heavens, and Ngho has to use her powers to stop him.

From the publisher: In this sequel to Girl Giant and the Monkey King, Thom and her friends set off on a far flung adventure to save the Heavens and the Jade Emperor from certain destruction.

Get this book: Girl Giant and the Jade War by Van Hoang (Amazon | Bookshop)

The Excalibur Curse by Kiersten White

Kiersten White is the New York Times bestselling author behind the Camelot Rising Trilogy. This week, she releases The Excalibur Curse, the conclusion to that series.

The trilogy follows Queen Guinevere and King Arthur fighting to protect Camelot. In The Excalibur Curse, Guinevere’s enemies capture her, leading her down a path of doubt and self-discovery.

From the publisher: The gripping conclusion to the acclaimed Arthurian fantasy trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White finds Guinevere questioning everything—friends and enemies, good and evil, and, most of all, herself.

Get this book: The Excalibur Curse by Kiersten White (Amazon | Bookshop)

The Upper World by Femi Fadugba

Femi Fadugba tapped his childhood growing up in London’s Peckham neighborhood and his understanding of quantum physics to write The Upper World.

The young adult novel is Fadugba’s publishing debut. The story finds Esso discovering he can see the past and future and realizes his future self is in danger. Can Esso visit the future and save himself?

Netflix is turning The Upper World into a film starring Academy Award-nominated actor Daniel Kaluuya. But you can read the book today.

From the publisher: If you had the chance to change your future, would you take it? Perfect for fans of Neal Shusterman and Jason Reynolds, this powerhouse, mind-bending YA debut follows two teens, a generation apart, whose fates collide across time--and outside of it.

Get this book: The Upper World by Femi Fadugba (Amazon | Bookshop)

Strangeville School is Totally Normal by Darcy Miller

Children’s book author Darcy Miller kicks off a new series this week with Strangeville School is Totally Normal.

Harvey Hill is a new student at Strangeville Middle School, where he’s happy to blend in as a regular kid. But, unfortunately, Harvey’s school is not ordinary.

When his new friend, Stella Cho, disappears, Harvey uses his unique qualities to find her.

From the publisher: This new highly-illustrated series is guaranteed to make you laugh so hard milk will come out of your nose! Strangeville School is the wackiest, most dangerous school you will ever attend...and you'll desperately want to come back for more!

Get this book: Strangeville School Is Totally Normal by Darcy Miller (Amazon | Bookshop)

New children’s and young adult books out this week

Just two full weeks remain before Christmas, and this week boasts a few notable new children's books.

Here are four new titles you or the young reader in your life may enjoy:

Happy reading, or gifting!

Are you excited to read any of these books? If so, let me know in the comments. And if you enjoyed this article, please share it with others.

This post contains affiliate links. That means I may receive a small percentage of any purchase you make after visiting one of these links at no additional cost to you. This tiny amount of money helps make stories like this one possible. Thank you for your support!

Comments / 0

Published by

Books reporter for NewsBreak. Follow for updates on new books, publishing news, and more.

Washington, DC
493 followers

More from Nicholas Barron

Comments / 0