Parker, CO

Parker Youth Commission gives teens a voice

Natasha Lovato
The 2022 Parker Youth Commission members.Photo byThe Town of Parker

Natasha Lovato / NewsBreak Denver

(Parker, Colo.) The Parker Youth Commission is made up of Douglas County high school students who provide a voice for their community peers and new applicants are needed.

Created by the Town Council in 2022, the Parker Youth Commission provides students with a formal advisory role where they can learn more about their local government, participate in the process, and represent and articulate the needs of Parker’s young citizens. 

Iris Pixler, Legend High School senior and current chairperson for the Parker Youth Commission, stated that the Youth Commission taught her what it takes to be a leader and how to advocate for her peers.

“We can do so much more if we work together than we can on our own,” Pixler said. 

“I also recommend that anyone who has the chance to apply does. The best way to learn about government and advocacy is by being hands on and this opportunity is truly one of a kind.”

Pixler felt blown away by how many passionate students she met in the Youth Commission’s inaugural year and is motivated to keep the momentum going.

Some of Pixler’s and the Youth Commission's accomplishments include a series of awards available for Parker middle and high school students.

Awards and scholarships for middle and high school students

The Spirit of Parker Award is designed to recognize high school students who influenced their community in a positive, meaningful, and beneficial way. Two winners will be selected to receive a $1,000 scholarship. 

Applications are open through May 31.

The Pride of Parker Award gives middle school students the opportunity to express what Parker means to them through a visual art submission of various mediums. Five winners will receive $100 gift cards and all submissions will be displayed within the town’s facilities. 

Applications are open through May 31.

Youth Commission commitment details

The Youth Commission consists of nine members who serve two-year terms. 

Preference is given to Parker residents, although any DougCo students currently in grades 8 through 10 will be considered.

Applications are open through June 15 ahead of appointing the 2023 members in August.

This is original content from NewsBreak’s Creator Program. Join today to publish and share your own content.

Comments / 0

Published by

Lovato covers local news for Douglas County, Colo. Contact via email:

Douglas County, CO

More from Natasha Lovato

Comments / 0