Houston, TX

HISD to host educator of the year awards on June 15

Marisol Gallagher

HOUSTON — Houston Independent School District (HISD) will celebrate their teachers on June 15 in the Educator of the Year awards. The event will be divided into two events.

During the day, an in-person and socially distanced event will take place at Delmar Stadium. In the evening, a virtual event will be held to recognize the Principals and Assistant Principals of the Year, Teachers of the Year, Beginning Teachers of the Year, Librarians of the Year, the Ann Sledge Instructional Coach winners, and the various winners for nurses, teachers, and Associate Teachers of the Month throughout the school year.

At the elementary level, the six 'Teacher of the Year' finalists are Neftaly Gonzalez from Oates Elementary School, Anabel Lopez from Ketelsen Elementary School, Lisa M. Rice from C. Martinez Elementary School, Rosa Oviedo from Neff Early Learning Center, Briana Poindexter from Grissom Elementary School, and Barbara Smith from Sinclair Elementary School.

At the secondary level, the six 'Teacher of the Year' finalists are Aric Barnes from Sam Houston Math, Science, and Technology Center High School, Kimberly Brooks from Westbury High School, Rose Durant from Kashmere High School, Sharon PeBenito from Edison Middle School, Chelsea Reynolds from Pin Oak Middle School, and Yabei Yin from Mandarin Immersion Magnet School.

The finalists for the 'Beginning Teachers of the Year' are Sarah Arvidsson from Seguin Elementary School, Patricia Biles from Revere Middle School, and Christen Smajstria from Heights High School.

Last but not least, finalists for the 'Principals of the Year' are Lola Perejón from Helms Dual Language Elementary School and Gretchen Kasper-Hoffman from Tanglewood Middle School.

Comments / 0

Published by

Journalist. I believe in H-Town, Rockets, Lone Star Football and God.

Houston, TX

More from Marisol Gallagher

Comments / 0