Indianapolis, IN

When is the Indy 500? Lineup, Winners and Qualifying Notes


When is the Indy 500? This is a question that is often asked as soon as the racing season begins. Luckily for IndyCar fans, the 106th running of the Indianapolis 500 takes place this weekend! Below, we will go over the Indy 500 start time, schedule, starting lineup and grid, qualifying notes and past winners of the Indianapolis 500.

When is the Indy 500?

The Indy 500 takes place on Sunday, May 29th, with a race start time of 12:45 p.m. EST. Helio Castroneves is the defending champion of the Indianapolis 500.

Date: Sunday, May 29, 2022
Start Time: 12:45 p.m. EST (with pre-race coverage beginning at 11 a.m.)
Track: Indianapolis Motor Speedway — Indianapolis, IN
Coverage: NBC
Pole Sitter: Scott Dixon
Defending Champion: Helio Castroneves
Credit: Alton Strupp/Louisville Courier Journal

Indianapolis 500 Qualifying Notes

  • Scott Dixon set a qualifying speed record on his way to capturing the pole position. This is the fifth time that the 2008 Indy 500 champion has started the race on the pole.
  • Dixon may have been the fastest of them all, but the entire Chip Ganassi Racing fleet stole the show in qualifying. Defending IndyCar Series Champion Alex Palou will join Dixon on the front row in the Indianapolis 500 starting lineup. Marcus Ericsson and Tony Kanaan will both start on Row 2, giving CGR four of the top six starting spots.
  • The only other race team to earn a starting position on the first two rows was Ed Carpenter Racing. Rinus VeeKay will be the third car in Row 1 for Sunday's race while Ed Carpenter himself will start fourth.
  • Team Penske is noticeably absent from the front of the Indy 500 starting lineup. Will Power was the fastest Penske Chevrolet in qualifying, but he will only be starting 11th.
  • Defending Indianapolis 500 race winner Helio Castroneves is back to defend his throne with Meyer Shank Racing. Unfortunately, he will have work to do if he is to win his record-setting fifth career Indy 500. Castroneves will start 27th after a lackluster qualifying run.
  • Seven-time NASCAR Cup Series Champion Jimmie Johnson is set to make his Indianapolis 500 debut this season. Johnson qualified 12th, the worst starting spot of the five Chip Ganassi Racing cars. However, he was the second-fastest of the seven Indy 500 rookies who qualified for this year's race.

Indy 500 Starting Lineup and Grid

Starting Pos.DriverCar No.TeamEngine Manufacturer
1Scott Dixon9Chip Ganassi RacingHonda
2Alex Palou10Chip Ganassi RacingHonda
3Rinus VeeKay21Ed Carpenter RacingChevrolet
4Ed Carpenter33Ed Carpenter RacingChevrolet
5Marcus Ericsson8Chip Ganassi RacingHonda
6Tony Kanaan1Chip Ganassi RacingHonda
7Pato O'Ward5Arrow McLaren SPChevrolet
8Felix Rosenqvist7Arrow McLaren SPChevrolet
9Romain Grosjean28Andretti AutosportHonda
10Takuma Sato51Dale Coyne Racing with RWRHonda
11Will Power12Team PenskeChevrolet
12Jimmie Johnson48Chip Ganassi RacingHonda
13David Malukas18Dale Coyne Racing with HMDHonda
14Josef Newgarden2Team PenskeChevrolet
15Santino Ferrucci23Dreyer and Reinbold RacingChevrolet
16Simon Pagenaud60Meyer Shank RacingHonda
17JR Hildebrand11A.J. Foyt RacingChevrolet
18Conor Daly20Ed Carpenter RacingChevrolet
19Callum Ilott77Juncos Hollinger RacingChevrolet
20Alexander Rossi27Andretti AutosportHonda
21Graham Rahal15Rahal Letterman Lanigan RacingHonda
22Sage Karam 24Dreyer and Reinbold RacingChevrolet
23Marco Andretti98Andretti Herta Autosport with Marco Curb Honda
24Devlin DeFrancesco29Andretti Steinbrenner AutosportHonda
25Colton Herta26Andretti AutosportHonda
26Scott McLaughlin3Team PenskeChevrolet
27Helio Castroneves06Meyer Shank RacingHonda
28Kyle Kirkwood14A.J. Foyt RacingChevrolet
29Dalton Kellett4A.J. Foyt RacingChevrolet
30Juan Pablo Montoya6Arrow McLaren SPChevrolet
31Christian Lungaard30Rahal Letterman Lanigan RacingHonda
32Jack Harvey45Rahal Letterman Lanigan RacingHonda
33Stefan Wilson25DragonSpeed/Cusick RacingChevrolet

Indy 500 Winners

The following are the past 10 Indy 500 winners.

2021Helio CastronevesMeyer Shank RacingDallara DW12-Honda
2020Takuma SatoRahal Letterman Lanigan RacingDallara DW12-Honda
2019Simon PagenaudTeam PenskeDallara DW12-Chevrolet
2018Will PowerTeam PenskeDallara DW12-Chevrolet
2017Takuma SatoAndretti AutosportDallara DW12-Honda
2016Alexander RossiAndretti Herta AutosportDallara DW12-Honda
2015Juan Pablo MontoyaTeam PenskeDallara DW12-Chevrolet
2014Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti AutosportDallara DW12-Honda
2013Tony KanaanKV Racing TechnologyDallara DW12-Chevrolet
2012Dario FranchittiChip Ganassi RacingDallara DW12-Honda

This is original content from NewsBreak’s Creator Program. Join today to publish and share your own content.

Comments / 0

Published by

FlurrySports is an independent sports media outlet that is dedicated to delivering real news and analysis about sports. You won't see fluff pieces or the mentioning of LeBron James simply to move the needle. In a world of questionable media, quality is our business model.

Green Bay, WI

More from FlurrySports

Comments / 0