Buschy McBusch Race 400 Starting Lineup and Stats for NASCAR Cup Series Race


After making the massive jump from short track racing to Talladega Superspeedway, the drivers and teams of the NASCAR Cup Series find themselves dealing with a track somewhere in between this week. Kansas Speedway is set to host the first of two NASCAR weekends at the track this season. The Buschy McBusch Race 400 (yes, that’s the name of the race!) is scheduled to be run on Sunday afternoon. The 1.5-mile oval has put on many entertaining races over the years. The field found out their respective spots in the Buschy McBusch Race 400 starting lineup on Wednesday.

This article contains all kinds of vital information necessary to get you ready for the eleventh race of the NASCAR Cup Series season. Read on for the Buschy McBusch Race 400 starting lineup, start time, fast facts and NASCAR betting stats.

Want more NASCAR stats? Check out our updated driver standings and statistics article , complete with breakdown and analysis!

Credit: USA TODAY Sports

NASCAR Cup Series at Kansas Speedway

11th Buschy McBusch Race 400
Date: Sunday, May 2, 2021
Start Time: 3 p.m. EST
Track: Kansas Speedway — Kansas City, KS
Coverage: FS1
Pole Sitter: Brad Keselowski
Defending Champion: Denny Hamlin

Buschy McBusch Race 400 Race Details

Distance: 400.5 miles
Laps: 267
Lap Length: 1.5 miles
Stages: Three (Laps 1-80; Laps 81-160; Laps 161-267)
Surface: Asphalt
Turns: 4

Buschy McBusch Race 400 Starting Grid

See below for a breakdown of qualifying.

Starting Position Driver Car Number Team Manufacturer
1 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske Ford
2 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
3 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports Ford
4 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
5 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford
6 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
7 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske Ford
8 Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
9 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Ford
10 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
11 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
12 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet
13 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing Toyota
14 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing Ford
15 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
16 Chris Buescher 22 Roush Fenway Racing Ford
17 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
18 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
19 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
20 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
21 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing Chevrolet
22 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front Row Motorsports Ford
23 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet
24 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
25 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
26 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet
27 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports Chevrolet
28 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
29 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske Ford
30 B.J. McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports Ford
31 Justin Haley 77 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet
32 Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
33 Cody Ware 51 Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet
34 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing Chevrolet
35 Joey Gase 15 Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet
36 Garrett Smithley 53 Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet
37 Josh Billicki 52 Rick Ware Racing Ford
38 Austin Cindric 33 Team Penske Ford
39 Matt Mills 55 BJ McLeod Motorsports Ford

NASCAR Cup Series Qualifying Overview

Following the virus-caused interruption to racing last season, NASCAR did away with practice and qualifying runs at the majority of races. A combination of grouped draws and a performance-metrics formula were used to determine starting grids. That same formula remains in place for the majority of races on the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season, including this weekend’s Buschy McBusch Race 400 starting lineup.

So, what exactly is involved in the performance-metrics formula? Well, it draws on a number of factors including individual race performances and seaosn-long results. The following breakdown illustrates the weighted grades associated with each component of NASCAR’s metrics formula:

NASCAR Cup Series Metrics Formula Breakdown

  • 35 percent: Team owner points ranking
  • 25 percent: Driver’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 25 percent: Car owner’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 15 percent: Fastest lap from the previous race
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Buschy McBusch Race 4 00 Stats and NASCAR Betting Facts

  • With Busch Beer becoming the title sponsor of the race this season, the company put the official name of the race up to a fan contest. Fans paid $1 to submit their race names for consideration with all money being donated to the non-profit charity Farm Rescue. As seen throughout the article, the winning name was “Buschy McBusch Race 400”.
  • Although the spring race at Kansas Speedway has only been around for ten years, it has had several other names in the past. In 2015, it was run as the “SpongeBob SquarePants 400”.
  • When it comes to all-time victories at Kansas, current NASCAR Cup Series driver Kevin Harvick sits in a three-way tie with Jimmie Johnson and Jeff Gordon at three apiece.
  • Since its inception in 2011, Brad Keselowski and Denny Hamlin are the only drivers to win the Buschy McBusch Race 400 more than once. Each has two victories in this race, with Hamlin being the defending champion and Keselowski last winning in 2019.
  • Joe Gibbs Racing leads all race teams with four victories in the race. Hamlin’s win last year was JGR’s first in this race since Kyle Busch in 2016.
  • Hendrick Motorsports and Team Penske are the only other teams with multiple wins in this race with two apiece.
  • Toyota leads all manufacturers with five wins in the Buschy McBusch Race 400. Four came courtesy of Joe Gibbs Racing while the fifth came by way of Martin Truex Jr. and Furniture Row Racing in 2017.

Comments / 5

Published by

FlurrySports is an independent sports media outlet that is dedicated to delivering real news and analysis about sports. You won't see fluff pieces or the mentioning of LeBron James simply to move the needle. In a world of questionable media, quality is our business model.

Green Bay, WI

More from FlurrySports

Comments / 0