FCS Football Awards: Eddie Robinson Award Finalists


On Monday, 16 finalists were announced for the Stats Perform FCS Eddie Robinson Award. This will also be the 34th time the award will be handed out. The award is given out to the national coach of the year in the FCS football season. The Eddie Robinson award will be given out on May 4th.

The award is named after legendary head coach of Grambling State. A 40-member national media panel will select the winner from the crazy FCS Spring Football season. Past winners include Jim Tressel (Youngstown State), K.C. Keeler (Delaware) and Paul Johnson (Georgia Southern). There have been three two-time winners of the Eddie Robinson Award. Two-time winners include former North Dakota State coach Craig Bohl (2012, 2013), current New Hampshire head coach Sean McDonnell (2005, 2014) and former James Madison coach Mickey Matthews (1999, 2008).

Check out the finalists below!

Credit: Robert Casey/Weber State Athletics

Eddie Robinson Award Finalists | FCS Football

Name, School 2021 Record, (Con . Record) Notes
Scott Abell, Davidson 4-2 (4-1 Pioneer) The Wildcats won their first conference title since 1969. They also earned their first Playoff Bid.
Kevin Callahan, Monmouth 3-0 (3-0 Big South) The Hawks won their second straight outright conference title. They also earned their third playoff bid in four years.
Dave Cecchini, Bucknell 2-2 (2-1 Patriot) The Bulls played in their first conference title game this spring.
Curt Cignetti, James Madison 5-0 (3-0 CAA South) The second-year coach is now 11-0 in conference play. They earned the third playoff seed.
Bryan Collins, Long Island University 2-2 (2-2 Northeast) After a winless debut in 2019, the Sharks earned their first two FCS football victories this spring.
Landon Fox, Valparaiso 4-2 (4-2 Pioneer) After a one-win debut in 2019, Valpo posted their best winning percentage since 2003.
Charles “Doc” Gamble, Arkansas-Pine Bluff 4-0 (4-0 SWAC West) Gamble, a first-year head coach, led the Lions to the SWAC Championship for the first time since 2012.
Jay Hill, Weber State 5-0 (5-0 Big Sky) Weber State football won their fourth straight conference title and fifth straight playoff bid.
Dean Hood, Murray State 5-2 (5-2 OVC) In his first year, the Racers tied their 1995 team for best start (5-0) in program history.
K.C. Keeler, Sam Houston State 6-0 (6-0 Southland) The Bearkats claimed the number two seed in the playoffs. Keeler is looking to become the fourth coach to win the Eddie Robinson Award twice and the first to win at different schools.
Connell Maynor, Alabama A&M 3-0 (2-0 SWAC East) After a 35-day layoff because of COVID, Maynor led the Bulldogs to their first SWAC Championship game since 2011.
Rod Milstead, Delaware State 2-3 (2-3 MEAC) The Hornets loss to South Carolina State was all that kept them from a winning season, for the incredibly improved team.
Bobby Petrino, Missouri State 5-4 (5-1 MVFC) In his first season, the Bears were picked to finish ninth in the MVFC. They earned a share of the conference title for the first time since 1990.
Danny Rocco, Delaware 5-0 (4-0 CAA North) The Blue Hens matched their win total from 2019, and earned the CAA automatic bid to the playoffs.
Kyle “Bubba” Schweigert, North Dakota 4-1 (4-1 MVFC) The Fighting Hawks won a share of the MVFC Title in their first season in the conference.
Scott Wachenheim, VMI 6-1 (6-1 Southern) The Keydets won their first conference title since 1977, and earned their first ever FCS football playoff bid.
Eddie Robinson Award Finalists

Other FCS Football Awards Given Out

Walter Payton Award : Given to the best offensive player during the 2021 FCS Spring Football season.

Buck Buchanan Award : Given to the best defensive player during the 2021 FCS Spring Football season.

Jerry Rice Award : This award is given to the FCS football Freshman of the Year.

Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year: This Award will be given out for the fifth time to an FCS football student-athlete who excels not only on the field and in the classroom, but the community as well.

Comments / 0

Published by

FlurrySports is an independent sports media outlet that is dedicated to delivering real news and analysis about sports. You won't see fluff pieces or the mentioning of LeBron James simply to move the needle. In a world of questionable media, quality is our business model.

Green Bay, WI

More from FlurrySports

Comments / 0