FCS Football Awards: Walter Payton Award Finalists


On Monday, 18 finalists for the FCS Stats Perform Walter Payton Award were announced. The award is presented to the national offensive player of the year in the FCS Spring Football season. This year will be the 34th year that the award has been handed out. A 40-member national media panel will announce the winner of the Walter Payton Award on May 15th.

The award is named after the legendary NFL running back who played his college football at Jackson State. Past winners of the award include former Dallas Cowboy quarterback Tony Romo, current Los Angeles Rams wide receiver Cooper Kupp and former Philadelphia Eagle running back Brian Westbrook. The most recent recipient is former North Dakota State quarterback Trey Lance , who is projected to go in the first round of the 2021 NFL Draft .

Check out the finalists below!

Credit: Christian Abraham/Hearst Connecticut Media

Walter Payton Award Finalists | FCS Football

Name, Position School Stats
Percy Agyei-Obese, RB James Madison 69 Carries for 381 Yards, 4 TDs
Eric Barriere, QB Eastern Washington 166/268 for 2,193 Yards, 18 TDs, 6 INTs
Julius Chestnut, RB Sacred Heart 93 Carries for 717 Yards, 8 TDs, 3 Receiving TDs
Tim DeMorat, QB Fordham 93/129 for 1,049 Yards, 5 Passing TDs, 3 INTs, 2 Rushing TDs
Juwon Farri, RB Monmouth 79 Carries for 422 Yards, 9 TDs
Aqeel Glass, QB Alabama A&M 67/113 for 1,084 Yards, 13 TDs, 3 INTs, 1 Rush TD
Jakob Kerres, WR VMI 67 Receptions for 807 Yards, 7 TDs
Quay Holmes, RB ETSU 122 Carries for 640 Yards, 8 TDs, 182.3 all-purpose Yards
Tyler Hudson, WR Central Arkansas 50 Catches for 845 Yards,
Cole Kelley, QB Southeastern Louisiana 210/305 for 2,662 Yards, 18 TDs, 4 TDs
Dejoun Lee, RB Delaware 77 Carries for 498 Yards, 5 TDs, Kickoff Return TD
Keith Pearson, WR Presbyterian 65 Receptions for 831 Yards, 5 TDs
Pierre Strong Jr., RB South Dakota State 80 Carries for 453 Yards, 2 TDs, 1 Receiving TDs
Otis Weah, RB North Dakota 76 Carries for 570 Yards, 7 TDs
Liam Welch, QB Samford 161/236 for 2,242 Yards, 12 TDs, 5 INTs, 4 Rushing TDs
DeAngelo Wilson, WR Austin Peay 44 Receptions for 619 Yards, 3 TDs
Finalists For The Walter Payton Award

The Walter Payton Award winner will be revealed during the annual STATS FCS Awards Banquet. The 2019-2020 recipient Trey Lance was announced on January 10th, 2020. Lance was the 15th quarterback to receive the award, as quarterbacks have won the award 15 of the last 16 years. Cooper Kupp of Eastern Washington was the only non-quarterback to win since 2003. A 40-member national media panel will select the winner from this weird yet exciting season.

Other FCS Football Awards Given Out

Buck Buchanan Award : Given to the best defensive player during the 2021 FCS Spring Football season.

Jerry Rice Award : This award is given to the FCS football Freshman of the Year.

Eddie Robinson Award : Coach of the Year award in the FCS.

Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year: This Award will be given out for the fifth time to an FCS football student-athlete who excels not only on the field and in the classroom, but the community as well.

Comments / 0

Published by

FlurrySports is an independent sports media outlet that is dedicated to delivering real news and analysis about sports. You won't see fluff pieces or the mentioning of LeBron James simply to move the needle. In a world of questionable media, quality is our business model.

Green Bay, WI

More from FlurrySports

Comments / 0