Instacart 500 Starting Lineup and Stats for NASCAR Cup Series Race


The NASCAR Cup Series stays out west this week for the Instacart 500 at Phoenix Raceway . The race marks the first of two that the 1-mile track will host this season. The second won’t be until the final race of the season when the series will crown its 2021 champion.

This article contains all of the vital information necessary to get you ready for the fourth race of the NASCAR Cup Series season. Read on for the Instacart 500 starting lineup, start time, fast facts and statistics.
Credit: Getty Images
NASCAR Cup Series at Phoenix Raceway

17th Instacart 500
Date: Sunday, Mar. 14, 2021
Start Time: 3:30 p.m. EST
Track: Phoenix Raceway — Avondale, AZ
Coverage: FOX
Pole Sitter: Brad Keselowski
Defending Champion: Joey Logano

Instacart 500 Race Details

Distance: 312 miles (500 kilometers)
Laps: 312
Lap Length: 1.022 miles (1.645 kilometers)
Stages: Three (Laps 1-75; Laps 76-190; Laps 191-312)
Surface: Asphalt
Turns: 4

Instacart 500 Starting Grid

See below for a breakdown of qualifying.

Starting Position Driver Car Number Team Manufacturer
1 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske Ford
2 Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
3 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
4 Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
5 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
6 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
7 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Ford
8 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske Ford
9 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske Ford
10 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
11 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet
12 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
13 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
14 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports Chevrolet
15 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet
16 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports Ford
17 Chris Buescher 22 Roush Fenway Racing Ford
18 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
19 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing Ford
20 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford
21 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
22 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
23 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
24 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
25 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing Toyota
26 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
27 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing Team Chevrolet
28 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front Row Motorsports Ford
29 Justin Haley 77 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet
30 BJ McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports Chevrolet
31 Cody Ware 51 Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet
32 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
33 JJ Yeley 53 Rick Ware Racing Ford
34 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet
36 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing Chevrolet
36 Josh Billicki 52 Rick Ware Racing Ford
37 Timmy Hill 66 MBM Motorsports Ford
38 Joey Gase 15 Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet

NASCAR Cup Series Qualifying Overview

Following the virus-caused interruption to racing last season, NASCAR did away with practice and qualifying runs at the majority of races. A combination of grouped draws and a performance-metrics formula were used to determine starting lineups. That same formula remains in place for the majority of races on the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season, including this weekend’s Instacart 500.

So, what exactly is involved in the performance-metrics formula? Well, it draws on a number of factors including individual race performances and seaosn-long results. The following breakdown illustrates the weighted grades associated with each component of NASCAR’s metrics formula:

NASCAR Cup Series Metrics Formula Breakdown

  • 35 percent: Team owner points ranking
  • 25 percent: Driver’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 25 percent: Car owner’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 15 percent: Fastest lap from the previous race
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images
Instacart 5 00 Stats and NASCAR Betting Facts
  • Joey Logano won the 2020 Instacart 500 with the slowest average speed of any winner in the history of the race (94.407 mph)
  • Kevin Harvick leads all drivers with five career wins in the Instacart 500; four have come while driving for Stewart-Haas.
  • Stewart-Haas Racing leads all teams with five wins in this race.
  • Chevrolet leads all manufacturers with 10 wins with the last one coming in 2017.
  • Kevin Harvick won the Instacart 500 in four out of the five years from 2014-18.
  • Aside from Kevin Harvick, Ryan Newman is the only other active driver with multiple Instacart 500 wins (2010, 2017).
  • The 2010 race was extended to 600 kilometers in a reaction by track officials to new NASCAR start time rules.
  • Toyota drivers have won four of the last six races at Phoenix Raceway.

Comments / 0

Published by

FlurrySports is an independent sports media outlet that is dedicated to delivering real news and analysis about sports. You won't see fluff pieces or the mentioning of LeBron James simply to move the needle. In a world of questionable media, quality is our business model.

Green Bay, WI

More from FlurrySports

Comments / 0