Pennzoil 400 Starting Lineup and Stats for NASCAR Cup Series Race


After three straight weeks of racing in Florida to begin the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season, the action shifts out west this weekend. The 1.5-mile Las Vegas Motor Speedway will be the site of Sunday’s Pennzoil 400. After three surprising victors in the first three races, including William Byron winning last week’s Dixie Vodka 400 , the bar has certainly been set high in terms of excitement.

This article contains all of the vital information necessary to get you ready for the fourth race of the NASCAR Cup Series season. Read on for the Pennzoil 400 starting lineup, start time, fast facts and statistics.
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
NASCAR Cup Series at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

23rd Pennzoil 400 presented by Jiffy Lube
Date: Sunday, Mar. 7, 2021
Start Time: 3:30 p.m. EST
Track: Las Vegas Motor Speedway — Las Vegas, NV
Coverage: FOX
Pole Sitter: Kevin Harvick
Defending Champion: Joey Logano

Pennzoil 400 Race Details

Distance: 400 miles
Laps: 267
Lap Length: 1.5 miles (2.4 kilometers)
Stages: Three (Laps 1-80; Laps 81-160; Laps 161-267)
Surface: Asphalt
Turns: 4

Pennzoil 400 Starting Grid

See below for a breakdown of qualifying.

Starting Position Driver Car Number Team Manufacturer
1 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
2 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
3 Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
4 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
5 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports Ford
6 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
7 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
8 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
9 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
10 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske Ford
11 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
12 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
13 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Ford
14 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing Ford
15 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske Ford
16 Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet
18 Chris Buescher 22 Roush Fenway Racing Ford
19 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet
20 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
21 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
22 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing Team Chevrolet
23 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing Toyota
24 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
25 Justin Haley 77 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet
26 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske Ford
27 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front Row Motorsports Ford
28 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
29 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports Chevrolet
30 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford
31 Garrett Smithley 53 Rick Ware Racing Ford
32 Cody Ware 51 Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet
33 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet
34 BJ McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports Chevrolet
35 Josh Billicki 52 Rick Ware Racing Ford
36 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing Chevrolet
37 Joey Gase 15 Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet
38 Timmy Hill 66 MBM Motorsports Ford

NASCAR Cup Series Qualifying Overview

Following the virus-caused interruption to racing last season, NASCAR did away with practice and qualifying runs at the majority of races. A combination of grouped draws and a performance-metrics formula were used to determine starting lineups. That same formula remains in place for the majority of races on the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season, including this weekend’s Pennzoil 400.

So, what exactly is involved in the performance-metrics formula? Well, it draws on a number of factors including individual race performances and seaosn-long results. The following breakdown illustrates the weighted grades associated with each component of NASCAR’s metrics formula:

NASCAR Cup Series Metrics Formula Breakdown

  • 35 percent: Team owner points ranking
  • 25 percent: Driver’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 25 percent: Car owner’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 15 percent: Fastest lap from the previous race
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images
Pennzoil 400 Stats and NASCAR Betting Facts
  • Pole-sitter and race favorite Kevin Harvick has won the Pennzoil 400 twice in his career (2015, 2018).
  • Joey Logano has won each of the last two Pennzoil 400 races.
  • Jimmie Johnson holds the record for the most career Pennzoil 400 wins all-time with four.
  • Among active drivers, Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano and Brad Keselowski are all tied with two career Pennzoil 400 wins apiece.
  • Joey Logano’s average speed as the 2020 race winner was 134.861 mph. This marked the slowest winning average speed since Kyle Busch in 2009.
  • Ford has seen its cars win each of the last three and five of the last seven editions of the race. Ford also has the most all-time wins in the race with 12.
  • The Pennzoil 400 is unique from all other NASCAR Cup Series races in that the winner receives a championship belt rather than a trophy.

Comments / 2

Published by

FlurrySports is an independent sports media outlet that is dedicated to delivering real news and analysis about sports. You won't see fluff pieces or the mentioning of LeBron James simply to move the needle. In a world of questionable media, quality is our business model.

Green Bay, WI

More from FlurrySports

Comments / 0