New York City, NY

The 2021 Heisman Trophy Winner Will Be Announced On Saturday

Douglas Pilarski

The Heisman Is Awarded To College Football's Top Player

This week, four of the top players in College Football sit and wonder if good fortune will touch them this Saturday in New York City. This year’s winner will get the nod at the Downtown Athletic Club in New York City.

The Heisman Memorial Trophy is awarded every year to the top player in NCAA football. It is considered the most prestigious award in the sport. Nominees are no stranger to awards and national recognition. Some of the greatest to have ever played the game have the coveted trophy on their mantle.

The first recipient of the Heisman was Jay Berwanger in 1935. Berwanger earned the nickname one-man-gang as a member of the University of Chicago’s backfield.

Only Ohio State running back Archie Griffin won the trophy two times - 1974 and 1975.

Former Heisman winners and media members get a ballot. The player with the most votes out of the 927 cast takes the iconic home.

According to the Heisman Trophy Trust, fans weigh in on their choices and vote online. Their selections are submitted as one additional vote bringing the total to 928.

Heisman finalists for 2021 got word on December 6.

They are as follows:

  • Pitt quarterback Kenny Pickett
  • Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud
  • Alabama quarterback Bryce Young
  • Michigan defensive end Aidan Hutchinson
Pitt quarterback Kenny PickettPhoto via Pinterest
Ohio State quarterback C.J. StroudPhoto via Pinterest
Alabama quarterback Bryce YoungPhoto via Pinterest
Michigan defensive end Aidan HutchinsonPhoto via Pinterest

Players finishing fifth through tenth in this year’s voting will be recognized in a televised event later in the evening on ESPN. Only the top four will attend the ceremony at the Downtown Athletic Club.

As with any award, fans root for their favorite or local players. Fans feel snubbed with their player doesn’t garner enough votes to make it to New York. Nevertheless, there are fine year-long performances that don’t go unnoticed. The NFL draft will see many of the best get a chance to play on Sunday.

Good luck to all the players recognized for their outstanding seasons this year.

Share your thoughts.

  • Do you have a favorite player who did not make the final list?
  • Who will win this year’s Heisman Trophy?
  • Do you think the fans should have a say in the final results?
  • Do you favor limiting voting to the media and former winners?

Comments / 3

Published by

Douglas Pilarski is an award-winning writer & journalist based on the west coast. He writes about luxury goods, exotic cars, horology, tech, food, lifestyle, and workplace issues!

Beaverton, OR

More from Douglas Pilarski

Comments / 0