Fort Bend Sheriff's deputies looking for college age drunk drivers during spring break

Covering Katy
Fort Bend County Sheriff Eric FaganFBCSO photo

FORT BEND COUNTY, TX (Covering Katy) - Spring break is here and so are Fort Bend County Sheriff’s Office deputies who are patrolling the local highways to prevent unnecessary crashes.

The Sheriff’s Office is partnering with the Texas Department of Transportation to remind Fort Bend citizens about the potentially fatal consequences of drinking and driving during spring break.

"The Texas Department of Transportation and the Sheriff’s Office are focusing on college students and young adults through a statewide, impaired driving campaign called Drive Sober - No Regrets to help prevent fatal crashes and save lives," said a statement from the Sheriff's Office.

Fort Bend County Sheriff Eric Fagan is urging young drivers to drive sober and to keep safety first this spring break and all year round.

“It’s always a good idea to exercise caution when you’re on the road, especially during spring break when there are lots of people heading out on vacation and recreation,” Fagan said. “We’re looking out for everyone’s safety and encourage our young citizens to make sober driving a habit.”

"One person in Texas dies every eight hours and 31 minutes in a DUI-alcohol related traffic crash," the statement said.

According to the Texas Department of Transportation, Texas saw 872 DUI/alcohol-related traffic crashes which resulted in 30 fatalities and 107 serious injuries over the 2021 spring break. In Fort Bend County, Sheriff’s deputies made 12 DWI arrests with one crash resulting in a DWI arrest during that time.

Driving under the influence does not only refer to alcoholic beverages, but also prescription and non-prescription medications and controlled substances that impair judgment. The financial consequences of driving while intoxicated can be severe.

In Texas, it is illegal for a person under 21 to consume alcohol. Anyone who is legally intoxicated may be arrested and charged with DWI, which could lead to up to 180 days in jail and a fine up to $2,000, in addition to attorney fees and court costs. Drivers under the influence also run the risk of losing their driver’s license for up to one year. Drivers and passengers can be fined up to $500 for having an open alcohol container in a vehicle.

“I always say, ‘If you see something, say something’. If you notice a driver is driving irresponsibly and might be drinking and driving, I urge you to call our office,” Fagan said. “We take these offenses seriously and are here for you, so please don’t hesitate to reach out to us. Your call may save a life.”

Sheriff Fagan offers these safety tips for drivers of all ages:

· Before you drink, make plans for a safe return home.

· If you are intoxicated, use a ride share service or appoint a designated driver who has not consumed any alcohol.

· Call a friend or family member for a sober ride.

· Look out for your own safety and that of others when on the road. If you feel uncomfortable in a situation, speak up.

Comments / 1

Published by

Covering Katy provides news coverage of the Katy, TX area of west Houston.

Katy, TX

More from Covering Katy

Comments / 0