What To Read if You Love The Crown

Claire Handscombe

If you love The Crown and you can't wait for the next season, here are a few books to fill the gap.

Before the Crown, by Flora Harding

https://img.particlenews.com/image.php?url=2RSsLC_0ain1Vsv00
book cover

Queen Elizabeth is the subject of endless fascination for many -- so much about her remains mysterious to so many of us, and that's by design. Here, Flora Harding imagines her life before she was Queen, including her courting of Prince Philip.

The Bench, by Meghan, the Duchess of Sussex

https://img.particlenews.com/image.php?url=20kZPw_0ain1Vsv00
book cover

This beautifully illustrated picture book was written by Meghan as a poem following the birth of Archie and her love for Harry as a dad.

The Gown, by Jennifer Robson

https://img.particlenews.com/image.php?url=4IYCId_0ain1Vsv00
book cover

This novel tells two interwoven stories: in 1947, two friends work on the wedding dress of Princess Elizabeth. Half a century later, someone finds mysterious embroidered flowers that seem familiar.

"For fans of “The Crown,” looking for history served up as intimate drama, and those seeking another angle on royal lives, “The Gown” seems likely to dazzle and delight," says The Washington Post.

My Husband And I: The Inside Story of 70 Years of the Royal Marriage, by Ingrid Seward

https://img.particlenews.com/image.php?url=1qOdFE_0ain1Vsv00
book cover

Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip were married for an impressive 73 years, and this book is a tribute to their love and its endurance through societal changes and family challenges.

The Ravenmaster: My Life with the Ravens at the Tower of London, by Christopher Skaife

https://img.particlenews.com/image.php?url=1apT2u_0ain1Vsv00
book cover

Tradition has it that if any of the ravens that live at the Tower of London fly away, the Crown will fall. It follows, then, that the job of looking after them is a supremely important one. In this book, Chrisopher Skaife shares “the folklore, history, and superstitions surrounding the ravens and the Tower”. This book is sure to have many “hey did you know” moments for even the most well-versed Anglophile – making it an ideal gift.

Victoria & Albert: A Royal Love Affair, by Daisy Goodwin and Sara Sheridan

https://img.particlenews.com/image.php?url=2pbdFK_0ain1Vsv00
book cover

If you or someone in your life were among the more than millions of viewers who watched the Masterpiece presentation of Victoria, you’ll probably love this TV tie-in, which brings their “surprisingly ardent and modern marriage” to life through letters and diaries and takes you behind the scenes of the series.

Wallis In Love, by Andrew Morton

https://img.particlenews.com/image.php?url=1QkQEH_0ain1Vsv00
book cover

Andrew Morton is well respected as the pre-eminent royal biographer. Here he charts how Wallis Simpson, an American divorcée, essentially changed the course of the British Monarchy, so she’s an important figure in understanding the significance of Meghan Markle’s marriage to Prince Harry.

The Windsor Knot, by SJ Bennett

https://img.particlenews.com/image.php?url=2YMNb3_0ain1Vsv00
book cover

When a murder happens at Windsor Castle, Queen Elizabeth is told not to worry about it -- the Police will investigate. Little does anyone at the Palace know that Her Majesty has been playing the amateur sleuth for decades. This delightful cosy mystery is the first in what will hopefully be a long series.

Comments / 0

Published by

Claire Handscombe is a British writer who moved to Washington, DC, in 2012, ostensibly to study for an MFA in Creative Writing, but really, let’s be honest, because of an obsession with The West Wing. She is the host of the Brit Lit Podcast, a monthly show about news and views from UK books and publishing; the author of Unscripted, a novel about a young woman with a celebrity crush and a determined plan; and the editor of Walk With Us: How The West Wing Changed Our Lives.

Washington, DC
191 followers

More from Claire Handscombe

Comments / 0