5 More Time Travel Novels for Fans of Addie LaRue

Claire Handscombe

If you're trying to fill the hole in your heart that's been left since you finished The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by VE Schwab, check out these great examples of other novels with time travel at their heart.

https://img.particlenews.com/image.php?url=1ovtqX_0ab55NET00
Ethan Medrano/Unsplash

How to Stop Time, by Matt Haig

Tom is 41, but he’s also hundreds of years old: he has a condition which prevents him both aging and dying. He’s performed with Shakespeare, explored the high seas with Captain Cook, and shared cocktails with Fitzgerald, and now that he just wants a normal life, it seems logical to put this first hand knowledge to good use and become a history teacher. The only rule for people of his condition is simple: do not fall in love. So, of course, into his life walks his colleague, a captivating French teacher. This book was both a bestseller and readers’ award prizewinner, and I saw it on more than a few end-of-year “best of” lists.

The Infinite, by Patience Agbabi

https://img.particlenews.com/image.php?url=3OrPna_0ab55NET00
book cover

Elle Bíbi-Imbelé Ifíè has a Gift: as a Leapling, born on 29th February, she can time travel. And on her 12th birthday, she uses the gift for the first time, hopping to the year 2048 with her best friend, Big Ben. But not everyone at the Time Squad Centre where she lands is trustworthy, and soon Elle has to fight to save the world. The Bookseller‘s verdict is “that Poet Agbabi combines a thrilling sci-fi adventure with a thought-provoking vision of the future in her children’s fiction debut”. And it’s the first in a series, so there’ll be plenty more to come, too.

Meet Me In Another Life, by Catriona Silvey

https://img.particlenews.com/image.php?url=293GgC_0ab55NET00
book cover

This novel opens in Cologne and features two students, Thora and Santi. It seems like a classic meeting of two soulmates, but it's so much more complicated than that. Over the course of the novel, they meet over and over again, in different lifetimes, and different roles: brother and sister, teacher and student, husband and wife.

Here's what Charles Yu says about it: “Inventive, bold and surprising—from where the novel starts I could have never imagined where it ends. Along the way the story of Thora and Santi builds in suspense and emotion, revealing itself page by page, layer by layer. Cleverly constructed and highly entertaining.”

The Time Traveler's Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger

https://img.particlenews.com/image.php?url=1Aev8L_0ab55NET00
book cover

Henry is forever leaving Clare to go to the future or the past. “Don’t you think,” she asks at one point, “that it’s better to have been extremely happy for a short while, even if you lose it, than to just be okay your whole life?” If you’ve wondered about this question too, read this book. It is a wonderful way of exploring it.

Comments / 0

Published by

Claire Handscombe is a British writer who moved to Washington, DC, in 2012, ostensibly to study for an MFA in Creative Writing, but really, let’s be honest, because of an obsession with The West Wing. She is the host of the Brit Lit Podcast, a monthly show about news and views from UK books and publishing; the author of Unscripted, a novel about a young woman with a celebrity crush and a determined plan; and the editor of Walk With Us: How The West Wing Changed Our Lives.

Washington, DC
191 followers

More from Claire Handscombe

Comments / 0