Apple now lets you edit and unsend text messages to other iPhone users

B.R. Shenoy

https://img.particlenews.com/image.php?url=19wA2M_0hu9YduT00
iPhone with hello messagePhoto by Tyler Lastovich from Pexels

"Users can edit or recall recently sent messages, recover recently deleted messages, and mark conversations as unread so they can come back to them later," an Apple press release stated.

CNBC reported that on September 12, Apple released IOS 16, which included the ability to edit and unsend text messages allowing users to withdraw or revise previously sent texts.

Apple first announced the feature in June at the company's WWDC event.

Go to Settings > General > Software Update to see if you have the new iOS.

Per NPR:

“Some other important notes: The features are only available on Apple devices. They only work when the recipient is another Apple user. And they work best if the person receiving your message has also installed iOS 16 (otherwise, users will see a list of every version of the text message you have edited).”

Other valuable features include marking messages as unread when you don't have time to respond but want to remember to contact someone later as well as recovering recently deleted messages for up to 30 days after deletion.

How to Edit and Unsend iMessages on iOS 16

To edit an iMessage on iOS 16:

  • Open up iMessage on your iPhone.
  • Hold down the message you want to edit.
  • A Quick Actions menu will be displayed.
  • Select Edit.
  • To change the message, select Edit.
  • When you're finished editing, click the blue check mark.
  • A single message can be edited up to five times.
  • You will have exactly two minutes to unsend an iMessage.
  • You will have 15 minutes from the time your message was sent to change it.
  • According to reports, Apple reduced the time limit in response to feedback that the feature could be abused.

To unsend an iMessage on iOS 16:

  • Open up iMessage on your iPhone.
  • Hold down the message you want to delete.
  • A Quick Actions menu will be displayed.
  • Tap the Undo Send button.
  • Undo Send is available for up to two minutes after sending.
  • When you try to unsend iMessages sent to someone who is using iOS 15 or earlier software, they may still be able to see them.
  • If the person you're texting has iOS 16, you'll see a message saying you unsent a text message.
  • As long as they didn't see a preview of that text when the original iMessage was sent, the person you're texting won't know what it was.

Here is a list of the new iOS 16 features.

Do you like the new iOS changes? Let us know in the comments.

Comments / 0

Published by

Content Creator||Writing stories that give people something to ponder about. https://original.newsbreak.com/@b-r-shenoy-1591448

Houston, TX
7932 followers

More from B.R. Shenoy

Comments / 0